Stepping Out

My Sunday started out with a wonderful visit from the Buhr family. Homemade pumpkin muffins, coffee, and Emma! Have I mentioned how grateful I am to this family? They have gone above and beyond with their help. It was so nice to visit with them, and it was so great to see Emma. It’s hard to believe she will be one year in less than a month, and not surprising with her parents, but she moves so fast! I think she skipped walking and went straight to running.

After the breakfast visit I relaxed a little bit and then Cate picked me up to go watch the last few cyclocross races at Coldstream. This is my team’s event and it felt a little odd going out there considering I had not contributed to the set up, or anything race day. I actually did feel a little guilty even knowing that there was really nothing I could do to contribute. The course looked great, and even though there was rain in the forecast the sun came out and it turned out to be a beautiful afternoon. It was very nice to see everyone. I was pretty comfortable watching the races, and was constantly accompanied whenever I moved so I felt very safe. I thought I would be really tired after the races, but I felt like I had enough energy so I decided to go to Pazzo’s for some pizza. It was such a nice evening and we sat outside on the patio. 90’s music played through the speakers, and we sang and laughed along to Ace of Base, Sarah McLachlan, Candlebox, Madonna, and Boys II Men. There was even a blueberry beer on the can menu. I can’t tell you how good it felt to be out. I was pretty tired, but I did manage to stay comfortable and pain free. I think I will take today as a “rest day”. It is a little rainy out right now so I think I will do some knitting.

Emma! Love this little one.

Emma! Love this little one.

It's cross season!

It’s cross season! Having a broken back has been getting me out of the hundreds of “why don’t you do this?” questions I generally get asked in the fall.

Crankworks Ladies! And Quincy

Crankworks Ladies! And Quincy 🙂

Bikes, braces, and blueberry beer!

Bikes, braces, and blueberry beer!

There really is no need for a caption. This is possibly the best image I have ever taken in my life's history.

There really is no need for a caption. This is possibly the best image I have ever taken in my life’s history.

One thought on “Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

