My Helmet

I have been working myself up to talking about my accident, or rather writing about my accident, and I think the best way for me to do this is in small pieces. Today I will start with my helmet. I always wear a helmet when I am on either my road bike, or mountain bike. This is why. I will explain in further detail and at a later time the events of my accident, but essentially I went over my bike and straight onto the top of my head. I do not like to imagine where I would be had I not been wearing my helmet, or if it were improperly adjusted, or if it were the wrong fit, etc.

This is the helmet that I wear: Giro Aeon. It has been my favorite so far. I love the fit, and how lightweight it is. I hadn’t however, tested its “protective features” until September 10th. Considering how much force it must have taken to break several bones in my neck, back, and chest, I would say the helmet did its job. I was conscious the entire time during, and after the accident. I had no cognitive defects, or head trauma. I am beyond grateful for my helmet. The Aeon did take a beating. The outer top is flattened, and the inside foam is fractured in about 8 different places.

photo 5 (1) photo 4 (1) photo 3 (2) photo 2 (3) photo 1 (4)

Thank you, helmet, thank you thank you thank you!

One thought on “My Helmet

  1. Nikki that is amazing. I am so thankful for the helmet! You are an incredible young woman. I can only imagine how hard it is to share your story, thank you. You are loved dearly by so many! Please, please don’t hesitate to ask Christian and I for anything. You know he is a movie buff, we would love to bring a movie over. Let us know when you are ready 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

